Ode to Dad

February 21, 1927, a day that will certainly live in my memory. My Dad is here this weekend to celebrate his 85th birthday. Wow, 85 years! It’s kind like the guy who watched a friend being buried in a new, bright shiny yellow Cadillac and exclaimed: “Now, that’s really livin!'” Only in my Dad’s case  it really is. {not the Cadillac part but the livin’ part! :-)}

I’ve got a ton of memories but mostly I remember the strong and scriptural instruction he gave me. It’s probably what got me into the ministry. There was something about his willingness, no, his drive, to stand in front of people and share the Good News.

I understand I’m breathing rare air when it comes to having your Dad around for 8 and a half decades so I’ll breathe in slowly and cherish it thankfully!

The Max Smith Family (Yep, that’s me in the middle with the crazy grin!) in the early years!

Plus, here’s a little poem I found that expresses my feelings for my DAD.

Dear Dad, it’s your birthday,
and I want you to know
I appreciate you more
As the years come and go.
All your good qualities
Stand out and shine;
Fathers are priceless,
And I’m so glad you’re mine!

By Joanna Fuchs

HAPPY 85TH BIRTHDAY DAD!

About timothymsmith

Christ Follower Married 3 Children 8 Grandchildren Pastor Braves Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ode to Dad

  1. chellejd says:

    Wow! 85 years to Grandpa Max! Happy Birthday. I have such sweet, sweet memories of him. My life is richer for meeting him and knowing him.

    Like

  2. Ron Miller says:

    Tim, So well said. There are a lot of us out here that feel the same way about Max. We all love him and wish him many more. He has touched so many lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

