Sticky Love

“Out of the mouths of babes.” That phrase is taken from Psalm 8:2 and refers to the cute and often profound things that can come from the lips of small children. I had such a comment and experience with one of my grandchildren this past weekend.

We had the privilege of visiting two of our children and their families in Palm Beach Gardens, FL for a few days and loved being with them and with our 8 grandchildren.

Brady

At one point we were at a soccer game and Brady, my 3 old grandson, was sitting with me on the bleachers mauling a sucker. I mean he was really enjoying it but I think more was on his face and hands then in his mouth! You add the sucker to the fact he had been playing in the wet grass and he was one dirty kid. And then, when he was at the height of his “sticky-ness,” he said, “Grandpa, I want to sit in your lap.”

To my shame the first thought that entered my head was how big a mess he was and so I said, “Brady, I’d love for you to sit on my lap but maybe there’s a wipe we can use first.” To which he said, “But Grandpa, you don’t need a wipe for me to sit with you.” Wait! His thought was not that he was dirty but that I might need a wipe? Oh, man. And that’s when it hit me… Brady doesn’t care what I look like, he just wants me to hold him. So, I took this sticky, messy boy into my arms and on my lap.

Like me, you have probably made the same spiritual connection. When it comes to God, I’m the sticky one. I’m the one that is much more a mess with my sin then Brady ever could be with his sucker and dirt. And yet, while God provides me a “wipe” in Jesus, He doesn’t ask me to clean myself up before he takes me in His loving arms. Romans 5:8 says, “This is how God demonstrated his love for us: He died for us while we were still dirty with sin.” (SEV) How glad I am that God didn’t wait for me to find my own wipe and clean myself up before he expressed His love for me!

Out of the mouths of babes…” and Brady!

About timothymsmith

Christ Follower Married 3 Children 8 Grandchildren Pastor Braves Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sticky Love

  1. Max Smith says:

    Excellent, son. What a beautiful illustration of God’s love for us, just as we are. Someone said that God said, “You catch them and I will clean them.” Love, Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

