In due time…

On June 29 I preached a message entitled, “Expressing Conviction in a Tolerant World.” We used the story of Daniel and the 3 amigo’s (Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego) to talk about several things. Several of those brought comments to my email and Facebook accounts from those who heard the message but this one brought the most:

One of my favorite and yet most frustrating bible verses is 1 Peter 5:6. It says this: “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.”(NIV)
It’s one of my favorites because of the fact that God is mighty and will lift me up.
It’s one of my most frustrating because of those last three words: in due time.
Because it’s not speaking of my due time, but His. Not when I want it but He’ll lift me up when He knows its right.

I believe that paragraph resonated with people because we are so impatient. We often cry out to God and say we trust Him to care for us but in reality we are saying, “God, deal with this the way I think is right and do it now!” I’ve even heard people quote Romans 8:28 that God works all things together for good, to justify that He’ll make our circumstances work out right. When in fact Romans 8:28 is steeped deeply within a salvation context. That is, He will ULTIMATELY work all things together for good not necessarily when we want them.

So, I ask you. Are there plans you’ve had and been waiting for God to fulfill? Are they promises from God, or are they your own plans? Is it your timetable, or is it God’s? Are answers flowing from God or being forced by you?

Life with God isn’t always easy or fun, but God is good. Even in your waiting, God is at work—maybe in the circumstances, maybe in other people, or maybe in you—even if you can’t see it. Ask God to give you eyes of faith to see what he’s up to and where he’s at work. Ask him to give you patience as he works in HIS DUE TIME.

About timothymsmith

Christ Follower Married 3 Children 8 Grandchildren Pastor Braves Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

