Pastor, who are you voting for?

The subject line is a question, as a Pastor, that I hear often. I get it. People within my circle of influence are confused by our current choices, so they want to know where I stand on the election. To be transparent, I am not enamored with either of our main candidates. On one hand you have a man who at times is vulgar, doesn’t sometimes think before he speaks and has a very checkered past. On the other you have a woman who is constantly stands on the very left and is in a constant battle over her credibility and honesty. The unfavorable rating of both of the main candidates has never been higher than in this election.

“Pastor, who are you voting for?” How do I answer that question? I say this:

I am voting for the PLATFORM of the party that most clearly supports LIFE. I don’t mention a name but I do say that I am a “one issue voter.” What do I mean by that? Simply this: I cannot cast a vote for anyone who doesn’t at least espouse the idea that life is sacred and begins at conception. Why do I say that?

Let me say this as clearly as I can. I DO NOT BELIEVE YOU CAN READ SCRIPTURE WITHOUT CONCLUDING THAT GOD CONSIDERS LIFE TO BEGIN AT CONCEPTION! Consider with me the following scriptures:

Exodus 21:22-23 – “If people are fighting and hit a pregnant woman and she gives birth prematurely but there is no serious injury, the offender must be fined whatever the woman’s husband demands and the court allows. But if there is serious injury, you are to take life for life…” (NIV) The life of both the woman and the unborn child were valuable to God! And the Jews understood this because every man had some reason to think that the Messiah could spring from his family and so they were extremely careful of the unborn child even if an accident had occurred.

Psalms 139:13 -16 -“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” (NIV) David says that God  already knew him and had ordained his days while he was still in the womb.

Isaiah 49:1 & 5 -“Before I was born the Lord called me; from my mother’s womb he has spoken my name.” “And now the Lord says — he who formed me in the womb to be his servant to bring Jacob back to him and gather Israel to himself…” (NIV) God called Isaiah before he was born, he called him in the womb to be his servant.

This is not just an Old Testament principle.
Luke 1:41 – “When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit.” (NIV) John the Baptist was 6 months developed in his mother’s womb when Mary came to visit his mother Elizabeth.

Luke 1:44 -“As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy!” (NIV) God moved through the Holy Spirit while John was still in the womb! The word “brethos” used to describe John in the womb is the very same word for the infant Jesus in Luke 2:12 & 16 where you find “a baby (brethos) wrapped in clothes and laying in a manger.” The words are used interchangeably.

You see, to God, birth doesn’t create life! It simply manifests the life that has already been created by God in the womb. And there is no way a serious Bible student can rationalize abortion today.

My wife, Deborah was the fourth of 7 children that my mother-in-law gave birth too. And I know those kids so bless her heart! 🙂 The time gap between my wife and her nearest older sibling was separated by 3 years. But if that was today maybe somebody would have said. “Lorena, you’ve already got three, and this one will be several years younger than your other three, this fourth one doesn’t matter.” Praise God #4 did matter to my mother-in-law! Because it certainly mattered to Deb! And it matters to my children and my grandchildren! And it mattered to me! Where would I be if #4 hadn’t mattered and had been just tossed aside?

The point is, every life matters to God. Whether it’s #1 or #10! Whether it’s perfect or deformed! He’s the one that is the author and Creator of life!

So, I cannot vote for anyone who will say, “I believe it’s the woman’s right to choose whether she gives birth to the baby inside of her.” Really? A woman can do whatever she chooses with her body? Not if she believes scripture because Paul wrote to the Corinthians, “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own;  you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.
(1 Cor. 6:19-20 NIV)

“Pastor, who are you voting for?” I am voting for the PLATFORM that says this:
We say the unborn child has a fundamental individual right to life which cannot be infringed. We support a human life amendment to the Constitution and we endorse legislation to make it clear that the 14th Amendment’s protections apply to unborn children. We oppose using public revenues for abortion and will not fund organizations which advocate it. We support the appointment of judges who respect traditional family values and the sanctity of innocent human life.”

Which party said that? Look it up! Or better yet, take a look at this guide to where the two major candidates stand 2016vgpresident on a number of issues including abortion.

Oh, and I add one more thing after saying, “I’m a one issue voter – I vote for the candidate who supports life at conception.” I add: “No matter who is elected God is still in control and “…he has set a day when he will judge the world with justice by the man he has appointed. He has given proof of this to everyone by raising him from the dead.”
(Acts 17:31 NIV)

About timothymsmith

Christ Follower Married 3 Children 8 Grandchildren Pastor Braves Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

